Putting On The Armour Of God

"Wear The Armour To Win The Battle Of Your Soul"
“Wear The Armour To Win The Battle Of Your Soul”
Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints. (Ephesians 6:10-18 NIV)

Each part of the armour of a Roman soldier in the time of Jesus was an essential piece that helped that soldier survive.  As I pondered this Scripture over many months in 2004, I realized that I could put on the armour of God to win the battles of my soul and life by doing the following:

The Belt Of Truth ~ daily reading and meditating on God’s Word.

The Breastplate Of Righteousness ~ daily affirming that my righteousness is in Christ Jesus and choosing to protect my heart and soul by shunning anything that is ungodly in the form of music, movies, books, and places.

Shoes Of Peace ~ daily sharing the Good News of Jesus through words that I speak and through the example of how I conduct myself.

Shield Of Faith ~ daily affirming my hope and trust is in God and testifying of His goodness in my life.

Helmet Of Salvation ~ daily affirming that I am saved by God’s Grace and not by my good deeds and the confession and repentance of sin in my life; choosing to protect my mind by shunning ungodly philosophies and teachings.

The Sword Of The Spirit ~ daily memorizing Scripture to refute Satan’s lies and overcome temptation.

Praying In The Spirit ~ daily seeking God through quiet times and praying in a manner that is pleasing to God i.e. not always seeking what I want but asking that the Holy Spirit reveal everything within me that God wants me to surrender to Him and interceding on behalf of others in the body of Christ, in my nation, community, and family. Prayer is the first thing I must do when I face any adversity or negative situation or emotion. Prayer raises my spiritual antenna and keeps me alert so that I am better able to handle Satan’s attacks against me.

The journey on the narrow path requires discipline, humility and desire to put God first.  Situations in life, drug, alcohol and sexual addictions, wars and fears about diseases like Ebola can damage or destroy a person’s soul unless they choose to exercise their faith as Christ has taught us.  Here’s a little poem for the journey…

The Warrior’s Sword
Copyright ©11/19/2004 Elizabeth Ellis
Take H.E.A.R.T. dear Brothers and Sisters,
If Temptation before you stands,
For a Warrior’s sword is in your hands,
Through God’s Promises and Commands!

So HEAR God’s Word and let faith grip your heart,
EXAMINE it further so it will set you apart,
ANALYZE it until its Truth you can apply,
REMEMBER it so you won’t get caught to Satan’s lie,
THINK on it until it is hidden in your heart,
And then rest in Jesus ‘cos you’ve done your part,
To defeat Temptation from the start!

Leave a Comment

