Passionate Prayer

"Pray Always With Thanksgiving In Your Heart"
“Pray Always With Thanksgiving In Your Heart”

Copyright ©12/28/2005 Elizabeth Ellis
Listen!
The Spirit is speaking to everyone
Let him who has an ear hear what is spoken
For the time has come to fall on our knees
Confessing the apathy that has become our disease
For the passion that was our first love has long gone
In the comfort of familiar traditions, it has become lukewarm
And God would rather spew us out of His mouth
But for His love that still calls us to rise up and get out
Of the place that is dead into the Spirit’s fire
To fulfill His purposes, to seek His desire
To share the Good News and save a dying human race
By repenting of our sin and humbly seeking His face
Praying for His forgiveness and the healing of our land
And the power of His Holy Spirit to be the mighty hand
That leads us to do the work He has prepared
That gives us the strength to do what is required
That opens our eyes to see what He sees
To feel His sorrow and compassion for a lost humanity
He calls us to have a pure and contrite heart
Without which, in His work we can have no part
Therefore, let us humbly pray with thanksgiving and earnest zeal
So our churches, communities and nation may heal
Listen!

Over the Christmas season in 2005, I was reading a book titled, If My People Pray, by Randy Maxwell that used 2 Chronicles 7:14 as a call to prayer. The NIV version of 2 Chronicles 7:14 states:
If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land.
When I finished reading that book, I was convicted of how far I was from being the kind of praying Christian that God wanted me to be. I could not get 2 Chronicles 7:14 out of my mind and, as I meditated on it, this  poem,  “Passionate Prayer”, unfolded in the early hours of December 28th. Today, it is my deepest hope that all of us will humble ourselves and seek God together so that we will receive His forgiveness for what we could have done and yet failed to do and the power of His Holy Spirit to fulfill what He still calls us to do individually and collectively.
Elizabeth Ellis

One thought on “Passionate Prayer”

Leave a Comment

