Heaven Is Waiting

We are one in Christ so let us rejoice & await His coming!

This Easter, I am reminded again how far I have come on this journey on the narrow path that began in October 1980 when I gave my heart to Jesus. I remember the first two years of my acceptance of Jesus as my Lord and Saviour were filled with a joy unspeakable.  Then came disappointment and disillusionment as I witnessed infighting and separation within the church where I gave my heart to Jesus.  It did not seem possible that people who professed to follow Jesus could behave in such a manner.  I left that church, in my human wisdom deciding never to be a member of another church.  Over the course of several years, I worshipped in every Christian denomination that was not pegged a cult.  I witnessed the good, the bad and the ugly of these different Christian organizations until one day my heart was changed as I was praying and meditating on these words:

17 But he who is joined to the Lord becomes one spirit with him. 18 Flee from sexual immorality. Every other sin a person commits is outside the body, but the sexually immoral person sins against his own body. 19 Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, 20 for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body. (1 Corinthians 6:17-20 ESV)

That day my heart was awakened to the reality that when I gave my heart to Jesus, my life became joined to him and I became one spirit with him.  As I pondered further on this, I realized that my body was now the temple of the Holy Spirit and how I thought, and how I spoke or the actions I did were the mark of my true calling as a disciple of Christ.  My hope was in Him and through Him and not about what other Christians said or did.  As I write this, I can only thank God for taking my foolish human wisdom and turning it into a life experience that taught me one of the most important lessons I needed to learn ~ to not look at people but to look at Jesus and seek the wisdom of God’s word and none other.

As Easter draws to a close, I am reminded once again that we are all sinners but for the grace of God that saved us and as we journey on this narrow path some of us zoom ahead and others lag behind but we have only one calling and that is to love God with all our heart and to exemplify the love of God to each other.  We need to love others as they are without an attitude of judgment; to pray about what we discern and encourage each other to finish the race set before us.  I look forward to celebrating the marriage feast of the Lamb with you and the great multitude of witnesses that have gone before us.  Heaven is waiting!

Elizabeth Ellis

4 thoughts on “Heaven Is Waiting”

  1. Hi there Elizabeth, yes I can relate to what you experienced after those first two years. The fact that so many Christians fight over disagreements on doctrine and stuff, all boils down to immaturity and lack of discerning the body of Christ. It is very immature to have the attitude that you are only willing to build relationship with those who agree with you on every doctrine etc. The bottom line is that if Christians are really born-again, experiences new life in Christ, then they are our brothers and sisters and we should be united with them, regardless of disagreements on doctrine and outlook etc. We don’t have to agree on everything, but if we are all saved, then we are all part of the same body of Christ. When we grow up, we can be united with others, even if we don’t agree on certain things. The fact that people in denominations prefer to only relate to others within the same denomination, shows immaturity and lack of discerning the body of Christ.

    Like

  2. Marcus, it is sad that some Christians not only have barriers with other Christians who are from different denominations but also fail to relate to people of different cultures to share the light of Jesus. Rapper Lacrae speaks about this in Passion 2015 and I hope you will listen to this and share it with your circle of friends. Here’s the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sXt5WWud9kk

    Like

Leave a Comment

