Anger

I was thinking on these passages of Scripture and my heart was moved to write this devotional to encourage all who struggle with anger to overcome and find peace within.

“In your anger do not sin”; Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, and do not give the devil a foothold. (Ephesians 4:26-27 NIV)

Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you. (Ephesians 4:31-33 NIV)

WISDOM FROM THE WORD OF GOD

When we get angry, we must not allow our anger to turn into bitterness, hatred or revenge.  Good anger acts, then forgives; it doesn’t keep a score card of past wrongs.  Choosing to be kind, compassionate and forgiving will quickly melt your anger away.  Anger at sin, especially the evil acts of man to his fellow man, is always appropriate and necessary but must be balanced by a good understanding of justice and mercy.

A PRAYER YOU MAY CHOOSE TO PRAY

Heavenly Father, help me when I am angry to not sin by becoming bitter and revengeful.  Help me to see my situation with Your eyes.  Help me to open my heart to receive Your way of resolving conflict.  I choose today to surrender my anger and hurt to You and to receive the kind, compassionate and forgiving nature of Jesus, my Saviour, instead.  Help me to forgive those who have wronged me as You, O God, have forgiven me.  In Jesus Name, AMEN.

Here’s a cartoon illustrated by Dana Long on never letting the sun go down on your anger published in “I Never Knew That Was In The Bible” by Thomas Nelson Publishers.  A reminder that life is always sweeter when we forgive.  If you are angry, I encourage you to start the journey of forgiveness today.  May God Bless You.
"I Never Knew That Was In The Bible" by Thomas Nelson Publishers
“I Never Knew That Was In The Bible” by Thomas Nelson Publishers

Elizabeth Ellis

Leave a Comment

