Fear

In 1996, facing a 20-50% chance of surviving the world’s largest pituitary brain tumour and just four days to prepare for an eight-hour surgery, I had a choice to make; let fear overcome me or go to the source that could give me strength and hope.  I chose the latter and my husband, mother and Scottish girlfriend sat around my bed reading Psalm 91 until I fell asleep the night before the surgery.

The next day I awoke calm and peaceful with a sense of God watching over me.  I fell asleep in pre-op and when the Anesthesiologist came to check my blood pressure and heart rate, he commented that I was the first patient he had seen who was sleeping and with a blood pressure of 110/70 and a heart rate of 60 beats a minute.  That is what God’s word can do!

As they wheeled me into surgery, I looked at my neurosurgeon and told him, “I’m going to see you tomorrow”.  Even more amazing is that instead of spending five days in Neuro ICU and ten days in a ward as anticipated by my neurosurgeon, I spent one day in Neuro ICU and 4 days in a ward before being discharged from the hospital.

Sometimes we doubt the power of God’s word; we let our intellect and emotions cloud the reality of God instead of trusting Him like a little child trusts their earthly parents.  I share this story of my life to encourage you if you are facing a fearful situation and I hope  this devotional helps you find the strength and hope you need.  To God be the praise and glory!

Psalm 91:1-2; 10-11 (NKJV)

He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.  I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress; my God in Him I will trust”….Because you have made the Lord, who is my refuge, even the Most High, your dwelling place, no evil shall befall you, nor shall any plague come near your dwelling; for He shall give His angels charge over you, to keep you in all your ways.

WISDOM FROM GOD’S WORD

God promises to preserve those who abide in Him and love Him from dangers such as deadly traps and epidemic diseases, wide-spread calamities, affliction, and Satan.  Nothing can match the security of knowing we are safe in the arms of God.  We receive this assurance when we choose to spend time with God and trust Him instead of our circumstances and feelings.  Choosing to trust God and keep His word hidden in your heart will lead you to a life of victory and peace despite adversity.

A PRAYER YOU MAY CHOOSE TO PRAY

Heavenly Father, today I choose to trust You.  Help me overcome my fear with the power of Your word.  Help me to abide in You and love You more and more each day so I can be victorious over ______________.  Help me to trust You instead of my feelings.  Thank you for charging your angels to watch over me and keep me safe.  In Jesus name, AMEN.

Here is a cartoon illustrated by Johnny Hawkins on choice (publisher unknown). Don’t give up, persevere!

“The Choice” By Johnny Hawkins

Leave a Comment

