Why Go To Church?

Seek God and gain strength for each day!
Seek God and gain strength for each day!

Recently an anonymous blog came my way that made me chuckle but also caused me to pause and look at why I went to church.  Honestly, there was a period in my life when my career consumed my life and I would go to church primarily to relieve loneliness and the need for companionship.  But God in his mercy and loving kindness has molded and changed my heart so today I can state without hesitation that I go to church:

  1. Firstly, to worship God with other believers.
  2. Secondly, to renew my mind with the truth of God’s Word by the teaching of someone who knows the Word better than me.
  3. Thirdly, to fellowship and pray with other believers.

Like iron sharpens iron, we need the interaction with God’s Word and other believers to develop the character that God is shaping us into.  The order is HEARING by listening, reading and studying God’s Word; BEING through surrender to the Lordship of Jesus in your life; then DOING what the Father wills you to do.  Finally, PERSEVERE – it leads to a joy beyond measure despite circumstances.

Here’s the anonymous blog – read and have a laugh too:

A Church goer wrote a letter to the editor of a newspaper and complained that it made no sense to go to church every Sunday.  I’ve gone for 30 years now,’ he wrote, ‘and in that time I have heard something like 3,000 sermons, but for the life of me, I can’t remember a single one of them so, I think I’m wasting my time and the priests are wasting theirs by giving sermons at all.’

This started a real controversy in the ‘Letters to the Editor’ column. Much to the delight of the editor, it went on for weeks until someone wrote this clincher: ‘I’ve been married for 30 years now. In that time my wife has cooked some 32,000 meals. But, for the life of me, I cannot recall the entire menu for a single one of those meals. But I do know this… They all nourished me and gave me the strength I needed to do my work. If my wife had not given me these meals, I would be physically dead today. Likewise, if I had not gone to church for nourishment, I would be spiritually dead today!’

When you are DOWN to nothing….God is UP to something! Faith sees the invisible, believes the incredible and receives the impossible! Thank God for our physical AND our spiritual nourishment!

When Satan is knocking at your door, simply say, ‘Lord Jesus, could you please answer the door” When Satan sees the Lord at the door he says “Ooooops sorry, wrong address” and takes off in a hurry.

BIBLE simply means:  Basic Instructions Before Leaving Earth! (B. I. B. L E. )

 All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work. (2 Timothy 3:16-17 NIV)

Elizabeth Ellis

Leave a Comment

