My Christmas Joy

Celebrate Christ & Life

Copyright ©12/07/2016 ~ Elizabeth Ellis

Snowflakes kiss my cheeks
As I walk the chilly windy streets
Passing homes with coloured lights all aglow
And Christmas trees, gifts, fruitcake and mistletoe
The sound of carols in the wind’s flow
Reminds me of what my heart does know
Angels were singing here on earth long ago
When our Saviour was born in a manger low

Because, Jesus, is God’s greatest loving gift
To a broken, sinful world that needs a lift
To know the height, depth and breadth of His love
And redemption from sin and death into Heaven above
For all who give their heart to Him
Can hold the hope of Heaven deep within
Hearts filled with joy despite life’s woes
For His return is as sure as winter’s snows

So though I love Christmas trees, gifts, fruitcake and mistletoe
And the sound of carols in the wind’s flow
God’s Christmas gift is the best gift I know
For He taught my heart to love another without measure
With a forgiving heart, my sweetheart to treasure
So my greatest joy this Christmas is that wee babe that came
Who is my Lord, my Saviour, and my best Friend,
Once again, this Christmas, I praise His Holy name!

my-christmas-joy

One thought on “My Christmas Joy”

  1. This beautiful poem fills my heart with great joy for I know that Jesus is the reason for this Season. Without Him Christmas would have no meaning for any of us. Thank for expressing this so well in this poem Elizabeth.

    Like

Leave a Comment

